Challenging Element of Clay Target Shooting

The scorching heat of Limpopo promised to match the scorching competition between eight South African provinces and Zimbabwe, all of whom converged near Mokopane at Al Thandiwe Shooting Club for the annual Chairman’s Cup Inter-Provincial.

The 2015 Safari and Outdoor Chairman’s Cup, our most prestigious domestic team event of the year, where the top shooters from each province battle it out over four different Clay Target disciplines – ATA Trap, NSSA Skeet, FITASC Sporting and FITASC Universal Trench. Three shooters per discipline per province

(12 team members in a province) make up a team and they all shoot 150 targets over two days.

This is our 33rd Chairman’s Cup and this year we partnered with Safari and Outdoor to present an event which combined the challenging elements of Clay Target Shooting set in beautiful bushveld surroundings. Thankfully the scorching temperatures did not materialise but the scorching competition did!
The conditions on Saturday, although not scorching hot, were quite windy and this affected many scores as they seemed somewhat under par. 

Notable scores

Notable scores actually came from a couple of juniors with Chris Davel posting a 98 in Trap and Pieter Greyling a 97 in Skeet. Tim Hubner didn’t disappoint in Sporting and generously shot a 94 for the Free State team. In Trench, the highest score came from Western Cape’s Erik de Wet who shot a worthy 97.

But as everyone knows, this is a team shoot! So how did the teams fare? It was clear from day one that Free State had a very clear game plan – WIN! At the end of day one, they were 16 targets ahead of Gauteng North. This sounds like a big gap but if you think about it, it’s only just over one target per team member. The question overnight was: would they start celebrating or would they hit the ranges on Sunday with a vengeance?

Big match temperament

As the scores on Sunday came in, it was clear that big match temperament was playing its role again and the scores were bouncing around some up, some down. Huge congratulations to Free State who won only for the third time in the history of the Chairman’s Cup! Full results are published on the newly upgraded website!

By: Sara Kalell

Last modified on Tuesday, 12 July 2016 13:08
  • 928 Times